Thomas W. Lawson

7 Masted Schooner

Length  395ft  4in Schooner Thomas W Lawson
Beam     49 ft 3in
Sail    43,055 sq ft
Disp    5218 tons
This painting  is owned by
Rick Will 

Thank you for sharing

Thomas W. Lawson was built of steel by the Fore River Ship & Engine Building Co., Quincy, MA in 1902 for Coastwise Transportation Co., Boston. at a cost of $258,000 She was the only seven-masted and largest schooner ever built. The masts were called fore mast, main mast, mizzen mast, number 4, number 5, number 6, and spanker mast, although number 4,5,6 might also have been called jigger mast, driver mast and pusher mast.  The americans sailing her prefered the days of the weeks for the masts with the Fore be Sunday and the pusher be Saturday

She was built for the coal trade and could carry 11,000 tons, was rebuilt in 1906 to be used for carrying oil in bulk.

On December 13th 1907 she sunk on Hellweather Reef, Scilly Islands (South of England) in a storm with a loss of 15 of the crew of 17

More Information

Marine History Information Exchange Group

Andrew Toppan <elmer@WPI.EDU> TSat, 14 Dec 1996
"John A. Butler" <jabutler@CPCUG.ORG> Sat, 2 Nov 1996

Maurice <MMUSEUM@QUCDN.QUEENSU.CA>
Michael Clarke <Michael_Clarke@WELBNI.TFNET.ORG> 27 Mar 1996
Andrew Toppan <elmer@WPI.EDU> 26 Mar 1996
Andrew Toppan <elmer@WPI.EDU> 27 Mar 1996
Andrew Toppan <elmer@WPI.EDU> 28 Mar 1996

"Capt. William R. Larson" <Topsail@AOL.COM> 27 Mar 1996
Joan Druett <JoanDruett@AOL.COM> 27 Mar 1996

John Harland <ylwm0161@CYBERSTORE.CA> 28 Mar 1996
Lars Bruzelius <uddri@MVS.UDAC.SE> 27 Mar 1996
Lars Bruzelius <uddri@MVS.UDAC.SE> 7 Apr 1996
"Peter J. Watson" <PWatson965@AOL.COM> 28 Mar 1996
Steve Lawson (SWLawson)" <SWLawson@AOL.COM> 6 Apr 1996

Sailing Ships: Thomas W. Lawson by Lars.Bruzelius@udac.se

Thomas W. Lawson  By Fredrik Sandström / fsandstr@abo.fi

TALL SAILING SHIPS
A B C D E
F G H I J
K L M N O
P Q R S T
U V W X Y

SEA TALES BOOK STORE For more information or to order click on any of the title after you reach Amazon and place a order you can backspace to our page and order another title or brouse some more with out losing your order
Paperback Fiction Featured in the Media   Audiobooks Paperback Nonfiction
Bargain Books   Hardcover Fiction     Amazon.com Hot 100.       Hardcover Nonfiction
Award Winners   Christian Authors A-Z

.